Women's golf WPGT

Ridhima finds form, shares lead with Amandeep Drall in first leg of Hero WPGT

The field started with 35 players of which four were eliminated after scoring 88 or more.

BENGALURU: Ridhima Dilawari began the New Year with a double bogey, but by the time the first round of the first leg of the Hero Women’s Pro Golf Tour ended, she had a share of the lead. Ridhima, a five-time winner in 2019, carded one-under 71 with five birdies against two bogeys and a double bogey at the lovely Prestige Golfshire in Bengaluru.

Sharing the lead with Ridhima was the in-form Amandeep Drall, who heads the Hero Order of Merit which is being combined for the shortened 2020 season and 2021. Amandeep, who teed off an hour and half after Ridhima, looked set for the lead as she was two-under through 17 holes after a steady showing that saw her get three birdies against a lone bogey. She dropped a shot on the par-4  18th and ended in a tie for the lead in the Rs.10 lakh event.

Vani Kapoor began with a bogey but four birdies against three more bogeys ensured an even par round that gave her the sole third place, one shot ahead of Pranavi Urs and Ananya Datar who shot 73 each.

Gauri Karhade, amateur Vidhatri Urs and Seher Atwal were tied sixth with scores of 74 each, while Hitaashee Bakshi, winner of the final event in 2020, Khushi Khanijau and amateur Sneha Sharan are tied for ninth with rounds of 75 each.

Ridhima, who won once in 2020, opened with a double bogey on Par-4 first hole, but quickly made up with birdies on third and fourth. A bogey on seventh was followed by a birdie on eighth. On the back nine, she birdied 13th but gave away that gain with a bogey on 17th. A closing birdie ensured an under par round.

Amandeep, who won twice last season, birdied fourth, seventh and 16th, but dropped shots on Par-5 fifth and Par-4 18th.

The field started with 35 players of which four were eliminated after scoring 88 or more.

Tee times for the second round of the first leg of the Hero WPGT at Prestige Golfshire, Bengaluru:

  8:30 am: Anisha Agarwalla 85; Neeharika Thangamma 84;

  8:40: Jyotsana Singh 84; Oviya Reddi 83;

  8:50: Rhea Jha 82; Mehar Atwal 80; Rishika Muralidhar (A) 80;

  9:00: Asmitha Sathish 80; Lakhmehar Pardesi 80; Saaniya Sharma 80;

  9:15: Jahanvi Bakshi 79; Rhea P. Saravanan 79; Ishvari Prasanna 79;

  9:25: Siddhi Kapoor 79; Shweta Mansingh 78; Shriya Vivek 78;

  9:35: Shagun Narain 78; Neha Tripathi 76; Disha Kavery (A) 76;

  9:45: Hunar Mittal (A) 76; Sneha Sharan (A) 75; Hitaashee Bakshi 75;

10:00: Khushi Khanijau 75; Seher Atwal 74; Vidhatri Urs (A) 74;

10:10: Gauri Karhade 74; Ananya Datar 73; Pranavi Urs 73;

10:20 am: Vani Kapoor 72; Amandeep Drall 71; Ridhima Dilawari 71.