Dipa Karmakar, Sriparna, Mantu Debnath get TSJC awards

AGARTALA: The annual prize distribution ceremony 2023-24 of Tripura Sports Journalist Club (TSJC) was held at Agartala Press Club on Saturday, 27 April, 2024. 
Youth Affairs & Sports Minister, Sri Tinku Roy, inaugurated the proceedings by lighting the lamp. Like every year, this year also, the excellent performances of the players were recognised by Tripura Sports Journalists Club to encourage and inspire the performers. 
Almost all of the audience appreciated the long standing initiative of Tripura Sports Journalists Club, especially the way it encouraged and motivated the players. 
The State’s Player of the Year and Emerging Player of the Year awards were presented along with the Lifetime Achievement Award in a grand manner.
Educationist Abhijit Bhattacharjee, Chairman and Principal of School of Science, business icon Rupam Roy, President of Tripura Sports Journalist Club Saraju Chakraborty and Secretary Suprabhat Debnath and many other dignitaries were present at the event.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was  given to the State’s first Arjuna awardee for gymnastics, Mantu Debnath. Player of the Year and Emerging Player of the Year awards went to Olympian gymnast Dipa Karmakar and Sriparna Debnath, respectively. Cricketers Manishankar Murasingh and Angel Paul, Footballer John Jamatia, Chess players Arshia Das and Aradhya Das, Judoka Tania Das, Yoga players Debarpan Kundu and Payel Das, para Swimmers Binit Roy and Samir Barman were also felicitated during the awards ceremony. 

Youth Affairs & Sports Minister, Sri  Tinku Roy distributed the awards to the players of different categories on the occasion.

Montu Debnath and eminent football coach and organiser, Bimal Kumar Roy Chowdhury, in their speeches presented a brief history of Sports Journalists Club and highlighted the special role the club played in the life of sportspersons.

Sports Minister highlighted the development of sports in the State and expressed the hope that the department and the State Government will always be by their side in such a developmental role even after fulfilling the professional duties of sports journalists.

The efforts of Joint Convener, Assistant Secretary Anirban Deb and Executive Member Abhishek Dey deserve appreciation for making the event successful. Subhrajit Bhattacharjee’s role in conducting the programme stood out.

About the author

Admin SJFI

Leave a Comment